Sign-Up for IVMF Updates

Subscribe to our email newsletter, reports, and releases to get the latest IVMF news and research.

About Us

The IVMF is higher education’s first interdisciplinary academic institute, singularly focused on advancing the lives of the nation’s military veterans and their families.

  • Who we serve: Individuals, organizations and communities
  • What we do: Program development & delivery, services and research, policy & evaluation
  • How we do it: As an innovative, high performing, efficient and effective organization

In Service to Those Who Have Served

The IVMF is committed to advancing the post-service lives of America’s service members, veterans and their families. Supported by a world class advisory board and public and private partners, our professional staff delivers unique and innovative programs in career, vocations, and entrepreneurship education and training to post 9/11 veterans and active duty military spouses, as well as tailored programs to veterans of all eras. The IVMF also provides actionable and national impacting research, policy analysis and program evaluation; and works with communities and non-profits across the nation to enhance service delivery for the 22.5 million veterans throughout the United States and their families.

Where We're Going Next

INTERACTIVE TIMELINE

Syracuse University’s Historical Commitment To Veterans

Leadership

J. Michael Haynie, Ph.D. Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; IVMF Founder & Executive Director ivmfdirector@syr.edu
Maureen E. Casey Chief Operating Officer mecasey@syr.edu
Christine T. Tarnowski Senior Director | Operations ctarnows@syr.edu
James D. McDonough Jr. Managing Director | Programs and Services jdmcdono@syr.edu
Joseph Torok Director | Information Technology jitorok@syr.edu
Misty Stutsman Director | Entrepreneurship & Small Business mrstutsm@syr.edu
Nicholas Armstrong, Ph.D., M.P.A. Senior Director | Research and Policy narmstro@syr.edu
Raymond Toenniessen Assistant Vice President | Veterans Development rmtoenni@syr.edu
Stephanie Salanger Director | Communications ssalange@syr.edu

Staff

Adam (A.J.) James Florkowski Program Manager | O2O-VCTP ajflorko@syr.edu
Aixa Escobar Camp Pendleton Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP agescoba@syr.edu
Allison Roth Advisor amroth@syr.edu
Amy Taft Curriculum and Learning Manager | O2O-VCTP ataft01@syr.edu
Angela Roarty Navy Region Northwest Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP agroarty@syr.edu
Angenetta Lambert Joint Base San Antonio Program Manager | O2O-VCTP arlamber@syr.edu
Anthony Bush Tri-Base Jacksonville Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP aqbush@syr.edu
Anthony Cosby Director, Employer Outreach | O2O-VCTP atcosby@syr.edu
Benjamin Dufay Joint Base Lewis-McChord Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP bjdufay@syr.edu
Beth G. Kubala Senior Director | Programs & Services egkubala@syr.edu
Billy Lockhart Enrollment Coordinator brlockha@syr.edu
Bonnie Chapman, RN, MPH Director | Evaluation and Innovation brchapma@syr.edu
Bryan Bullett Enrollment Coordinator bpbullet@syr.edu
Cliff Yager Fort Campbell Program Manager | O2O-VCTP ceyager@syr.edu
Daniel Bateman Director of Development dtbatema@syr.edu
Daniel Piston Program Coordinator | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP dmpiston@syr.edu
Dave Roddenberry Programs & Services Director | O2O-VCTP darodden@syr.edu
David Sly Advisor dsly01@syr.edu
Deanna Parker Program Manager | EBV & V-WISE dkparker@syr.edu
Deborah A. Bradbard, Ph.D. Senior Research Associate dbradbar@syr.edu
Dennis F. Kulis Senior Communications Designer & Publications Coordinator dfkulis@syr.edu
Elisabeth Rocha Joint Base Lewis-McChord Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP erocha@syr.edu
Elissa Gibbs Program Coordinator | EBV & V-WISE eagibbs@syr.edu
Ellie Komanecky Communications Designer egoneill@syr.edu
Elvis Avdic Advisor | IVMF Post-Program Support eavdic@syr.edu
Gilly Cantor, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager gscantor@syr.edu
Ilario Pantano Senior Director | Community Services igpantan@syr.edu
Jacqueline Flores Advisor jflor103@syr.edu
Jacqui Buchanan, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager jrbuc100@syr.edu
James Gilchrest Program Assistant | Community Services jgilchre@syr.edu
James Powers Manager | IT Help Desk jdpowers@syr.edu
James Schock Enrollment Coordinator | Programs & Services jmschock@syr.edu
Janice Kellish Executive Assistant to Dr. Mike Haynie jtkellis@syr.edu
Jennifer DeLucia Senior Director | Community Services jmdeluci@syr.edu
Jillian Johansen Advisor jejohans@syr.edu
Joanna Habermann Fort Drum Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP jchaberm@syr.edu
Joanna Sansoterra San Diego Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP jlsansot@syr.edu
Joe Aldaz Fort Carson Program Manager | O2O-VCTP jvaldaz@syr.edu
John Malfitano Hampton Roads Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP jpmalfit@syr.edu
Joseph Geraci, M.A. Research Associate jcg2123@tc.columbia.edu
Karen Douglas Fort Campbell Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP kvdougla@syr.edu
Katrina Lusk Fort Carson Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP kmlusk@syr.edu
Ken Mayes Fort Bragg Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP kmayes@syr.edu
Kicia Sears, M.P.A., M.A. Research Program Manager kksears@syr.edu
Kim Street Program Manager | Boots to Business kmstreet@syr.edu
Kimberly Keller Manager | Advising Services kemil100@syr.edu
Kimberly Lantry Administrative Assistant | Reception kslantry@syr.edu
Kristina Donzella Assistant Director | Center of Excellence in Veteran Entrepreneurship kedonzel@syr.edu
Laura Cooper Director | Advising & Enrollment Services lcoope01@syr.edu
Linda Euto, Ph.D., M.S. Associate Director | Research and Evaluation lmrougea@syr.edu
Lisa DeJonge Program Manager | Community Services lmdejong@syr.edu
Lyndsey Hodkinson Administrative Assistant | Programs & Services lhodkins@syr.edu
Maithreyee (Mai) Dubé Manager | Enrollment mddube@syr.edu
Margaret Lambrecht Development Associate | Development and External Relations mlambrec@syr.edu
Matthew Feldhaus Program Manager | Community Services mtfeldha@syr.edu
Matthew Hidek, Ph.D., M.S. Research Associate mahidek@syr.edu
Melissa Reider Director | Development mrreider@syr.edu
Michael Bianchi Senior Director | Education & Career Training mabianch@syr.edu
Michael Drum Enrollment Coordinator modrum@syr.edu
Michael Schoeneck Distance Learning Manager | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP meschoen@syr.edu
Mike Schindler Program Manager | Community Services mjschind@syr.edu
Mubota (Moe) Watson Joint Base San Antonio Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP muwatson@syr.edu
Nadine Austin Director | Administrative Operations nlaustin@syr.edu
Nancy Diller Advisor njdiller@syr.edu
Nate Birnbaum Research and Evaluation Analyst ngbirnba@syr.edu
Nyasha Boldon, M.A., M.P.H. Research Program Manager | Fellow nboldon@syr.edu
Patricia Piazza Tri-Base Jacksonville Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP ppiazza@syr.edu
Paulina Thompson Hampton Roads Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP plthomps@syr.edu
Philip Chan Advisor ppchan@syr.edu
Priyantha Fernando Enrollment Coordinator psfernan@syr.edu
Renee Storrs Fort Drum Program Coordinator, O2O-VCTP rlstorrs@syr.edu
Rosalinda Vasquez Maury, M.S. Director | Applied Research and Analytics rvmaury@syr.edu
Shane Murray Camp Lejeune Installation Coordinator | O2O-VCTP mmurra03@syr.edu
Steve Finley Program Coordinator | Boots to Business sfinley@syr.edu
Tina M. Kapral Director | Development tkapral@syr.edu
Vanessa Marquette Web Specialist II vrmarque@syr.edu
Veronica Sarantes Fort Bragg Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP vsarante@syr.edu
Vincent DelSignore Program Manager | Community Services vrdelsig@syr.edu
Zachary Huitink, Ph.D., M.P.P. D'Aniello Family Postdoctoral Fellow zshuitin@syr.edu

Advisory Board

Daniel A. D’Aniello '68 IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chairman/Co-Founder | The Carlyle Group
Brian Iglesias G'14 Head of Sports | Verizon Entertainment
Bruce E. Mosler Chairman of Global Brokerage | Cushman & Wakefield Inc.
Frank Bisignano Chief Executive Officer | First Data Corporation
Jill W. Chambers Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired), Founder | This Able Vet LLC
Kenneth O. Preston Former Sergeant Major of the Army, U.S. Army (Retired)
Linda J. Bilmes Daniel Patrick Moynihan Senior Lecturer in Public Policy | John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
Melvin T. Stith G'73, Ph.D.'78 Dean Emeritus | Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University
Richard L. Thompson G'67, H'15 Senior Counsel | Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Richard M. Jones '92, G'95, L'95 Executive Vice President, General Tax Counsel, Chief Veteran Officer | CBS Corporation
Robert B. Murrett Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired), Deputy Director | Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism, Professor of Practice | Maxwell School, Syracuse University
Thomas Foley G'81 President, TJF Advisors, Tully, NY
Matt Zames IVMF Advisory Board