Sign-Up for IVMF Updates

Subscribe to our email newsletter, reports, and releases to get the latest IVMF news and research.

About Us

The IVMF is higher education’s first interdisciplinary academic institute, singularly focused on advancing the lives of the nation’s military veterans and their families.

  • Who we serve: Individuals, organizations and communities
  • What we do: Program development & delivery, services and research, policy & evaluation
  • How we do it: As an innovative, high performing, efficient and effective organization

In Service to Those Who Have Served

The IVMF is committed to advancing the post-service lives of America’s service members, veterans and their families. Supported by a world class advisory board and public and private partners, our professional staff delivers unique and innovative programs in career, vocations, and entrepreneurship education and training to post 9/11 veterans and active duty military spouses, as well as tailored programs to veterans of all eras. The IVMF also provides actionable and national impacting research, policy analysis and program evaluation; and works with communities and non-profits across the nation to enhance service delivery for the 22.5 million veterans throughout the United States and their families.

Where We're Going Next


Syracuse University’s Historical Commitment To Veterans


J. Michael Haynie, Ph.D. Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; IVMF Founder & Executive Director
Maureen E. Casey Chief Operating Officer
Christine T. Tarnowski Senior Director | Operations
James D. McDonough Jr. Managing Director | Programs and Services
Joseph Torok Director | Information Technology
Misty Stutsman Director | Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Nicholas Armstrong, Ph.D., M.P.A. Senior Director | Research and Policy
Raymond Toenniessen Assistant Vice President | Veterans Development
Stephanie Salanger Director | Communications


Adam (A.J.) James Florkowski Program Manager | O2O-VCTP
Aixa Escobar Camp Pendleton Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Allison Roth Advisor
Amy Taft Curriculum and Learning Manager | O2O-VCTP
Angela Condon Navy Region Northwest Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Angenetta Lambert Joint Base San Antonio Program Manager | O2O-VCTP
Anthony Bush Tri-Base Jacksonville Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Anthony Cosby Director, Employer Outreach | O2O-VCTP
Benjamin Dufay Joint Base Lewis-McChord Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Beth G. Kubala Senior Director | Programs & Services
Billy Lockhart Enrollment Coordinator
Bonnie Chapman, RN, MPH Director | Evaluation and Innovation
Bryan Bullett Budget Coordinator
Cliff Yager Fort Campbell Program Manager | O2O-VCTP
Dan Strumlok Program Coordinator | Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Daniel Bateman Director of Development
Daniel Piston Program Coordinator | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP
Dave Roddenberry Programs & Services Director | O2O-VCTP
David Sly Advisor
Deanna Parker Program Manager | EBV & V-WISE
Deborah A. Bradbard, Ph.D. Senior Research Associate
Dennis F. Kulis Senior Communications Designer & Publications Coordinator
Elissa Gibbs Program Coordinator | EBV & V-WISE
Ellie Komanecky Communications Designer
Elvis Avdic Advisor | IVMF Post-Program Support
Gilly Cantor, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager
Ilario Pantano Senior Director | Community Services
Jacqueline Flores Advisor
Jacqui Buchanan, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager
James Gilchrest Program Assistant | Community Services
James Powers Manager | IT Help Desk
James Schock Enrollment Coordinator | Programs & Services
Janice Kellish Executive Assistant to Dr. Mike Haynie
Jennifer DeLucia Senior Director | Community Services
Jillian Johansen Advisor
Joanna Habermann Fort Drum Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP
Joanna Sansoterra San Diego Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Joe Aldaz Fort Carson Program Manager | O2O-VCTP
John Malfitano Hampton Roads Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP
Joseph Geraci, M.A. Research Associate
Karen Douglas Fort Campbell Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Kathryn Warren Camp Pendleton & San Diego Program Manager | O2O-VCTP
Katrina Lusk Fort Carson Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Ken Mayes Fort Bragg Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP
Keoki Hansen, M.A. Research Associate
Kicia Sears, M.P.A., M.A. Research Program Manager
Kim Street Program Manager | Boots to Business
Kimberly Keller Manager | Advising Services
Kimberly Lantry Administrative Assistant | Reception
Kristina Donzella Assistant Director | Center of Excellence in Veteran Entrepreneurship
Laura Cooper Director | Advising & Enrollment Services
Linda Euto, Ph.D., M.S. Associate Director | Research and Evaluation
Lisa DeJonge Program Manager | Community Services
Lyndsey Hodkinson Program Manager | Community of Practice
Maithreyee (Mai) Dubé Manager | Enrollment
Margaret Lambrecht Development Associate | Development and External Relations
Matthew Feldhaus Program Manager | Community Services
Matthew Hidek, Ph.D., M.S. Research Associate
Melissa Reider Director | Development
Michael Bianchi Senior Director | Education & Career Training
Michael Drum Enrollment Coordinator
Michael Schoeneck Distance Learning Manager | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP
Mike Schindler Program Manager | Community Services
Mubota (Moe) Watson Joint Base San Antonio Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Nancy Diller Advisor
Nate Birnbaum Research and Evaluation Analyst
Nyasha Boldon, M.A., M.P.H. Research Program Manager | Fellow
Patricia Piazza Tri-Base Jacksonville Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP
Paulina Thompson Hampton Roads Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Philip Chan Advisor
Priyantha Fernando Enrollment Coordinator
Renee Storrs Fort Drum Program Coordinator, O2O-VCTP
Rosalinda Vasquez Maury, M.S. Director | Applied Research and Analytics
Shane Murray Camp Lejeune Installation Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Steve Finley Program Coordinator | Boots to Business
Tina M. Kapral Director | Development
Vanessa Marquette Social Media & Web Specialist II
Veronica Sarantes Fort Bragg Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP
Vincent DelSignore Program Manager | Community Services
Zachary Huitink, Ph.D., M.P.P. D'Aniello Family Postdoctoral Fellow

Advisory Board

Daniel A. D’Aniello '68 IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chairman/Co-Founder | The Carlyle Group
David Owen IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chief Administrative Officer at JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Brian Iglesias G'14 Head of Sports | Verizon Entertainment
Bruce E. Mosler Chairman of Global Brokerage | Cushman & Wakefield Inc.
Frank Bisignano Chief Executive Officer | First Data Corporation
Howard Bromberg Vice President for Strategy and Business Development, Integrated Air and Missile Defense | Lockheed Martin Corporation
Jill W. Chambers Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired), Founder | This Able Vet LLC
John Donnelly Vice Chairman and Advisor to the Chairman & CEO | JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Kenneth O. Preston Former Sergeant Major of the Army, U.S. Army (Retired)
Linda J. Bilmes Daniel Patrick Moynihan Senior Lecturer in Public Policy | John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
Melvin T. Stith G'73, Ph.D.'78 Dean Emeritus | Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University
Richard L. Thompson G'67, H'15 Senior Counsel | Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Richard M. Jones '92, G'95, L'95 Executive Vice President, General Tax Counsel, Chief Veteran Officer | CBS Corporation
Robert A. McDonald 8th Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Robert B. Murrett Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired), Deputy Director | Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism, Professor of Practice | Maxwell School, Syracuse University
Robert P. Taishoff ’86 CEO | Annapolis Yacht Sales and Service
Sean O’Keefe G’78 University Professor and the Howard and Louise Phanstiel Endowed Chair in Strategic Management and Leadership | Syracuse University Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Thomas Foley G'81 President, TJF Advisors, Tully, NY
Matt Zames IVMF Advisory Board