Skip to main content

Sign-Up for IVMF Updates

Subscribe to our email newsletter, reports, and releases to get the latest IVMF news and research.

About Us

The IVMF is higher education’s first interdisciplinary academic institute, singularly focused on advancing the lives of the nation’s military veterans and their families.

  • Who we serve: Individuals, organizations and communities
  • What we do: Program development & delivery, services and research, policy & evaluation
  • How we do it: As an innovative, high performing, efficient and effective organization

In Service to Those Who Have Served

The IVMF is committed to advancing the post-service lives of America’s service members, veterans and their families. Supported by a world class advisory board and public and private partners, our professional staff delivers unique and innovative programs in career, vocations, and entrepreneurship education and training to post 9/11 veterans and active duty military spouses, as well as tailored programs to veterans of all eras. The IVMF also provides actionable and national impacting research, policy analysis and program evaluation; and works with communities and non-profits across the nation to enhance service delivery for the 22.5 million veterans throughout the United States and their families.

Where We're Going Next

INTERACTIVE TIMELINE

Syracuse University’s Historical Commitment To Veterans

Our Leadership, Staff, and Board

Leadership

Mike_Haynie_2017
J. Michael Haynie, Ph.D. Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; IVMF Founder & Executive Director ivmfdirector@syr.edu
Chris_Tarnowski_2017
Christine T. Tarnowski Senior Director | Operations ctarnows@syr.edu
JimMcDonough_web
James D. McDonough Jr. Managing Director | Programs and Services jdmcdono@syr.edu
JosepthTorok_web
Joseph Torok Director | Information Technology jitorok@syr.edu
MistyStutsman_web
Misty Stutsman Director | Entrepreneurship & Small Business mrstutsm@syr.edu
Nick_Armstrong_web
Nicholas Armstrong, Ph.D., M.P.A. Senior Director | Research and Policy narmstro@syr.edu
Raymond-Toenniessen_20113-e1346251344781
Raymond Toenniessen Assistant Vice President | Veterans Development rmtoenni@syr.edu

Staff

AJFlorkowski_web
Adam (A.J.) James Florkowski Program Manager | O2O-VCTP ajflorko@syr.edu
AixaEscobar_web
Aixa Escobar Camp Pendleton Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP agescoba@syr.edu
Amy Taft_web
Amy Taft Curriculum and Learning Manager | O2O-VCTP ataft01@syr.edu
angie roatry
Angela Condon Navy Region Northwest Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP agroarty@syr.edu
angenetta lambert updated
Angenetta Lambert Joint Base San Antonio Program Manager | O2O-VCTP arlamber@syr.edu
anthony bush
Anthony Bush Tri-Base Jacksonville Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP aqbush@syr.edu
anthony cosby_web_updated
Anthony Cosby Director, Employer Outreach | O2O-VCTP atcosby@syr.edu
becky ganley headshot
Becky Ganley Camp Lejeune Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP bganley@syr.edu
BenjaminDufay_web
Benjamin Dufay Joint Base Lewis-McChord Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP bjdufay@syr.edu
BethKubala_web
Beth G. Kubala Senior Director | Programs & Services egkubala@syr.edu
Bonnie_Chapman_web
Bonnie Chapman, RN, MPH Director | Evaluation and Innovation brchapma@syr.edu
Cliff Yager
Cliff Yager Fort Campbell Program Manager | O2O-VCTP ceyager@syr.edu
Dan Strumlok
Dan Strumlok Program Coordinator | Entrepreneurship & Small Business drstruml@syr.edu
DanielPiston_web
Daniel Piston Program Coordinator | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP dmpiston@syr.edu
daveroddenberry_web
Dave Roddenberry Programs & Services Director | O2O-VCTP darodden@syr.edu
deanna-parker-_-wb
Deanna Parker Program Manager | EBV & V-WISE dkparker@syr.edu
Deborah_Bradbard_web
Deborah A. Bradbard, Ph.D. Senior Research Associate dbradbar@syr.edu
Dennis Kulis_web
Dennis F. Kulis Senior Communications Designer & Publications Coordinator dfkulis@syr.edu
Elissa Leathers_web
Elissa Gibbs Program Coordinator | EBV & V-WISE eagibbs@syr.edu
ElvisAvdic_web
Elvis Avdic Advisor | IVMF Post-Program Support eavdic@syr.edu
gilly-cantor
Gilly Cantor, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager gscantor@syr.edu
IlarioPantano_web-1
Ilario Pantano Senior Director | Community Services igpantan@syr.edu
Jacqui-web
Jacqui Buchanan, M.P.A. Program Evaluation Manager jrbuc100@syr.edu
James Gilchrest
James Gilchrest Program Assistant | Community Services jgilchre@syr.edu
JaniceKellish_web
Janice Kellish Executive Assistant to Dr. Mike Haynie jtkellis@syr.edu
Jennifer-DeLucia_web
Jennifer DeLucia Senior Director | Community Services jmdeluci@syr.edu
JoannaHabermann
Joanna Habermann Fort Drum Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP jchaberm@syr.edu
Joanna_Sansoterra
Joanna Sansoterra San Diego Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP jlsansot@syr.edu
Joe Aldaz_web
Joe Aldaz Fort Carson Program Manager | O2O-VCTP jvaldaz@syr.edu
JohnMalfitano_web
John Malfitano Hampton Roads Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP jpmalfit@syr.edu
Geraci picture
Joseph Geraci, M.A. Research Associate jcg2123@tc.columbia.edu
Karen Douglas
Karen Douglas Fort Campbell Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP kvdougla@syr.edu
Kathryn_Warren_2
Kathryn Warren Camp Pendleton & San Diego Program Manager | O2O-VCTP kwarren@syr.edu
KatrinaLusk_web
Katrina Lusk Fort Carson Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP kmlusk@syr.edu
Ken Mayes
Ken Mayes Fort Bragg Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP kmayes@syr.edu
Keoki Hansen Portrait
Keoki Hansen, M.A. Research Associate keokihansen@yahoo.com
Kicia Sears _ web
Kicia Sears, M.P.A., M.A. Research Program Manager kksears@syr.edu
KimStreet_web
Kim Street Program Manager | Boots to Business kmstreet@syr.edu
KimKeller_web
Kimberly Keller Manager | Advising Services kemil100@syr.edu
KimLantry_web
Kimberly Lantry Administrative Assistant | Reception kslantry@syr.edu
LauraCooper
Laura Cooper Director | Advising & Enrollment Services lcoope01@syr.edu
linda-euto_8832
Linda Euto, Ph.D., M.S. Associate Director | Research and Evaluation lmrougea@syr.edu
LisaDeJonge
Lisa DeJonge Program Manager | Community Services lmdejong@syr.edu
Lyndsey Hodkinson Portrait
Lyndsey Hodkinson Program Manager | Community of Practice lhodkins@syr.edu
Mai_web
Maithreyee (Mai) Dubé Manager | Enrollment mddube@syr.edu
Margaret-Lambrecht_2012-e1350580589265
Margaret Lambrecht Development Associate | Development and External Relations mlambrec@syr.edu
Matthew-Feldhaus
Matthew Feldhaus Program Manager | Community Services mtfeldha@syr.edu
Matthew Hidek Portrait
Matthew Hidek, Ph.D., M.S. Research Associate mahidek@syr.edu
MichaelBianchi_web
Michael Bianchi Senior Director | Education & Career Training mabianch@syr.edu
Mike_Schoeneck_web
Michael Schoeneck Distance Learning Manager | Onward to Opportunity - VCTP meschoen@syr.edu
moe_web_updated
Mubota (Moe) Watson Joint Base San Antonio Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP muwatson@syr.edu
nate b
Nate Birnbaum Research and Evaluation Analyst ngbirnba@syr.edu
patti_web
Patricia Piazza Tri-Base Jacksonville Installation Manager | O2O-VCTP ppiazza@syr.edu
Paulina Thompson
Paulina Thompson Hampton Roads Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP plthomps@syr.edu
priyantha
Priyantha Fernando Enrollment Coordinator psfernan@syr.edu
reneestorrs
Renee Storrs Fort Drum Program Coordinator, O2O-VCTP rlstorrs@syr.edu
rosy
Rosalinda Vasquez Maury, M.S. Director | Applied Research and Analytics rvmaury@syr.edu
sahne murray_web
Shane Murray Camp Lejeune Installation Coordinator | O2O-VCTP mmurra03@syr.edu
steve finley
Steve Finley Program Coordinator | Boots to Business sfinley@syr.edu
VanessaMarquette_web
Vanessa Marquette Social Media & Web Specialist II vrmarque@syr.edu
Veronica_web_newest
Veronica Sarantes Fort Bragg Program Coordinator | O2O-VCTP vsarante@syr.edu
VincentDelSignore_web
Vincent DelSignore Program Manager | Community Services vrdelsig@syr.edu
Zachary Huitink_Portrait-2
Zachary Huitink, Ph.D., M.P.P. D'Aniello Family Postdoctoral Fellow zshuitin@syr.edu

Advisory Board

photo-daniello_dan_09
Daniel A. D’Aniello '68 IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chairman/Co-Founder | The Carlyle Group
David Owen
David Owen IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chief Administrative Officer | JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Brian-Iglesias2-e1346255194918
Brian Iglesias G'14 Head of Sports | Verizon Entertainment
Bruce-Mosler_Cushman-and-Wakefield
Bruce E. Mosler Chairman of Global Brokerage | Cushman & Wakefield Inc.
Frank-Bisignano_JPMC_highres1-e1346254538305
Frank Bisignano Chief Executive Officer | First Data Corporation
BROMBERG_FINAL
Howard Bromberg Vice President for Strategy and Business Development, Integrated Air and Missile Defense | Lockheed Martin Corporation
JillChambershighres1-e1346357163943
Jill W. Chambers Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired), Founder | This Able Vet LLC
John Donnelly
John Donnelly Vice Chairman and Advisor to the Chairman & CEO | JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Kenneth-O-Preston_US-Army-Ret.1-e1346255782993
Kenneth O. Preston Former Sergeant Major of the Army, U.S. Army (Retired)
Linda-Bilmes
Linda J. Bilmes Daniel Patrick Moynihan Senior Lecturer in Public Policy | John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
DeanStith_headshot1-e1346255986800
Melvin T. Stith G'73, Ph.D.'78 Dean Emeritus | Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University
Richard-Thompson_Crop
Richard L. Thompson G'67, H'15 Senior Counsel | Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Richard-Jones1
Richard M. Jones '92, G'95, L'95 Executive Vice President, General Tax Counsel, Chief Veteran Officer | CBS Corporation
MCDONALD_FINAL
Robert A. McDonald 8th Secretary of Veterans Affairs
RBMurrett_INSCT_highres1-e1346255628715
Robert B. Murrett Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired), Deputy Director | Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism, Professor of Practice | Maxwell School, Syracuse University
TAISHOFF_FINAL
Robert P. Taishoff ’86 CEO | Annapolis Yacht Sales and Service
OKEEFE_FINAL
Sean O’Keefe G’78 University Professor and the Howard and Louise Phanstiel Endowed Chair in Strategic Management and Leadership | Syracuse University Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Tom Foley
Thomas Foley G'81 President, TJF Advisors, Tully, NY
MattZames_web
Matt Zames IVMF Advisory Board