About Us

The IVMF is higher education’s first interdisciplinary academic institute, singularly focused on advancing the lives of the nation’s military veterans and their families.

  • Who we serve: Individuals, organizations and communities
  • What we do: Program development & delivery, services and research, policy & evaluation
  • How we do it: As an innovative, high performing, efficient and effective organization

In Service to Those Who Have Served

The IVMF is committed to advancing the post-service lives of America’s service members, veterans and their families. Supported by a world class advisory board and public and private partners, our professional staff delivers unique and innovative programs in career, vocations, and entrepreneurship education and training to post 9/11 veterans and active duty military spouses, as well as tailored programs to veterans of all eras. The IVMF also provides actionable and national impacting research, policy analysis and program evaluation; and works with communities and non-profits across the nation to enhance service delivery for the 22.5 million veterans throughout the United States and their families.

Where We're Going Next

INTERACTIVE TIMELINE

Syracuse University’s Historical Commitment To Veterans

Our Leadership, Staff, and Board

Leadership

haynie-ivmf-bio

J. Michael Haynie, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation; IVMF Founder & Executive Director; Barnes Professor of Entrepreneurship ivmfdirector@syr.edu
Chris_Tarnowski_2017

Christine T. Tarnowski

Senior Director | Operations ctarnows@syr.edu
Raymond-Toenniessen_20113-e1346251344781

Raymond Toenniessen

Assistant Vice President | Veterans Development rmtoenni@syr.edu
JosepthTorok_web

Joseph Torok

Director | Information Technology jitorok@syr.edu

Staff

Joe Aldaz

Joe Aldaz

Fort Carson Program Manager | O2O jvaldaz@syr.edu
ElvisAvdic_web

Elvis Avdic

Advisor | IVMF Post-Program Support eavdic@syr.edu
Dan_Bateman_web

Daniel Bateman

Director of Development dtbatema@syr.edu
MichaelBianchi_web

Michael Bianchi

Senior Director | Education & Career Training mabianch@syr.edu
danielle-bootes

Danielle Bootes

El Paso/Fort Bliss & Hawai'i Pacific Region Program Coordinator | O2O dcbootes@syr.edu
gilly-cantor

Gilly Cantor, M.P.A.

Program Evaluation Manager gscantor@syr.edu
Philip Chan

Philip Chan

Project Manager, Programs and Services ppchan@syr.edu
Bonnie_Chapman_web

Bonnie Chapman, RN, MPH

Director | Evaluation and Innovation brchapma@syr.edu
angie roatry

Angela Condon

Navy Region Northwest Program Coordinator | O2O agroarty@syr.edu
neil connors

Neil Connors

Website Content Specialist | Communications neconnor@syr.edu
Karen Douglas

Karen Douglas

Fort Campbell Program Coordinator | O2O kvdougla@syr.edu
linda-euto_8832

Linda Euto, Ph.D., M.S.

Associate Director | Research and Evaluation lmrougea@syr.edu
steve finley

Steve Finley

Program Coordinator | Boots to Business sfinley@syr.edu
Karen Francis

Karen Francis

O2O Program Coordinator | National Capital Region kesantia@syr.edu
Geraci picture

Joseph Geraci, M.A.

Research Associate jcg2123@tc.columbia.edu
Keoki Hansen Portrait

Keoki Hansen, M.A.

Research Associate keokihansen@yahoo.com
Matthew Hidek Portrait

Matthew Hidek, Ph.D., M.S.

Research Associate mahidek@syr.edu
Lyndsey Hodkinson Portrait

Lyndsey Hodkinson

Program Manager | Community of Practice lhodkins@syr.edu
JaniceKellish_web

Janice Kellish

Executive Assistant to Dr. Mike Haynie jtkellis@syr.edu
BethKubala_web

Beth G. Kubala

Senior Director | Programs & Services egkubala@syr.edu
Dennis Kulis_web

Dennis F. Kulis

Senior Communications Designer & Publications Coordinator dfkulis@syr.edu
Margaret-Lambrecht_2012-e1350580589265

Margaret Lambrecht

Development Associate | Development and External Relations mlambrec@syr.edu
KimLantry_web

Kimberly Lantry

Administrative Assistant | Reception kslantry@syr.edu
rachel linsner

Rachel Linsner, M.S.

Doctoral Research Fellow rklinsne@syr.edu
Katrina Lusk

Katrina Lusk

Fort Carson Program Coordinator | O2O kmlusk@syr.edu
Chiara Maggiore-Alkhateeb–square

Chiara Maggiore-Alkhateeb

Program Coordinator | EBV & V-WISE chmaggio@syr.edu
rosy

Rosalinda Vasquez Maury, M.S.

Director | Applied Research and Analytics rvmaury@syr.edu
LisaDeJonge

Lisa Murray

Program Manager | Community Services lmdejong@syr.edu
IlarioPantano_web-1

Ilario Pantano

Senior Director | Community Services igpantan@syr.edu
deanna-parker-_-wb

Deanna Parker

Program Manager | EBV & V-WISE dkparker@syr.edu
Jarod Perkioniemi Portrait

Jarod Perkioniemi

Manager | Advising Services japerkio@syr.edu
Kicia Sears _ web

Kicia Sears, M.P.A., M.A.

Program Evaluation Manager kksears@syr.edu
sandra-smith_square

Sandra Smith 

National Capital Region Program Manager | O2O sgsmith@syr.edu
Rachael Volpe

Rachael Volpe

Mid-Atlantic Region Lead | AmericaServes rlvolpe@syr.edu
Kathryn_Warren_2

Kathryn Warren

Camp Pendleton & San Diego Program Manager | O2O kwarren@syr.edu
Lawrence Wasser Square_5541

Larry Wasser

Salesforce Solutions Architect | Data Analytics and Business Intelligence ljwasser@syr.edu
Cliff Yager

Cliff Yager

Fort Campbell Program Manager | O2O ceyager@syr.edu

Advisory Board

photo-daniello_dan_09

Daniel A. D’Aniello '68

IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chairman/Co-Founder | The Carlyle Group
David Owen

David Owen

IVMF Advisory Board Co-Chairman & Chief Administrative Officer | JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Brian-Iglesias2-e1346255194918

Brian Iglesias G'14

Head of Sports | Verizon Entertainment
Bruce-Mosler_Cushman-and-Wakefield

Bruce E. Mosler

Chairman of Global Brokerage | Cushman & Wakefield Inc.
Frank Bisignano

Frank Bisignano

Chief Executive Officer | First Data Corporation
BROMBERG_FINAL

Howard Bromberg

Vice President for Strategy and Business Development, Integrated Air and Missile Defense | Lockheed Martin Corporation
JillChambershighres1-e1346357163943

Jill W. Chambers

Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired), Founder | This Able Vet LLC
John Donnelly

John Donnelly

Vice Chairman and Advisor to the Chairman & CEO | JPMorgan Chase & Co.
Kenneth-O-Preston_US-Army-Ret.1-e1346255782993

Kenneth O. Preston

Former Sergeant Major of the Army, U.S. Army (Retired)
Linda-Bilmes

Linda J. Bilmes

Daniel Patrick Moynihan Senior Lecturer in Public Policy | John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
DeanStith_headshot1-e1346255986800

Melvin T. Stith G'73, Ph.D.'78

Dean Emeritus | Whitman School of Management, Syracuse University
Richard-Thompson_Crop

Richard L. Thompson G'67, H'15

Senior Counsel | Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Richard-Jones1

Richard M. Jones '92, G'95, L'95

Executive Vice President, General Tax Counsel, Chief Veteran Officer | CBS Corporation
RBMurrett_INSCT_highres1-e1346255628715

Robert B. Murrett

Vice Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired), Deputy Director | Institute for National Security and Counterterrorism, Professor of Practice | Maxwell School, Syracuse University
TAISHOFF_FINAL

Robert P. Taishoff ’86

CEO | Annapolis Yacht Sales and Service
OKEEFE_FINAL

Sean O’Keefe G’78

University Professor and the Howard and Louise Phanstiel Endowed Chair in Strategic Management and Leadership | Syracuse University Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
Robert A McDonald

The Honorable Robert A. McDonald

8th Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Tom Foley

Thomas Foley G'81

President, TJF Advisors, Tully, NY
MattZames_web

Matt Zames

President and Senior Managing Director of Cerberus Capital Management